Section News

Follow the new Business Law Section LinkedIn page!  

We will be sharing news and events from the Business Law Section Executive Committee. Search OSB Business Law Section on LinkedIn, or click the link to follow the page.

Eva Kripalani is the 2023 recipient of  the James B. Castles Leadership Award

Eva began her legal career at Stoel Rives in Portland, where she became a corporate law partner. She then spent over 20 years in general counsel and interim general counsel roles, including at KinderCare Learning Centers and FEI Company. Her career has included not only serving in legal capacities, but also in executive operational roles, including government relations, corporate communications, internal audit and corporate philanthropy. Eva is a thought leader regarding lawyers transitioning into company leadership, including by co-authoring the book, “The Generalist Counsel: How Leading General Counsel are Shaping Tomorrow’s Companies,” published by Oxford University Press in 2013.

Drawing on her experiences, Eva is now the co-founder of The Office of General Counsel Network, an innovative network of attorneys who act as general counsels to organizations that may not have a legal department and supplement the in-house legal teams of those that do.

Eva’s career has also included a rich and generous dedication to public causes. She serves as a trustee for Willamette University and she chairs its Audit Committee. She completed nine years of service on the board of The Library Foundation, including service as its board chair. She has also served on the board of the Oregon Public Employees Retirement System and numerous nonprofits.

Robert J. McGaughey receives 2021 James B. Castles Leadership Award

In 1998, the Business Law Section established the James B. Castles Leadership Award to recognize Oregon lawyers for excellence in the practice of business law, professionalism among fellow business lawyers, and outstanding community leadership. It’s the highest recognition that the Business Law Section can bestow on one of its members.

The Executive Committee of the Business Law Section is pleased to announce that the 2021 recipient of the James B. Castles Award is Robert J. McGaughey. To honor our 2021 recipient, the Business Law Section has produced a short video about Robert, including comments from some of his close colleagues.