Continuing Legal Education

Mission: One of the most important things we can do as a section is help each other be better lawyers and stay on top of changing laws in our area. Our CLE subcommittee has organized some great events over the last year and is looking at ways to incorporate technology to reach members outside of the major metro areas. This subcommittee also organizes our annual fall CLE which will offered as a hybrid this year (2023).
Chair: Melissa Jaffe: [email protected] / 503 780-6565
Members: Anne Arathoon, Melanie Choch, Tim Crippen, Berit Everhart, Matt Larson, Ben Pirie


Mission: The mission of this subcommittee is business law improvement in Oregon.
Chair: Michael Walker: [email protected] / 503 226-2966
Members: Blake Bowman, Leigh Gill, Melissa Jaffe, Matt Larson, Jennifer Nicholls, Ben Pirie


Mission: The Outreach Subcommittee plans and carries out education programs and social events aiming to expand the reach of the Business Law Section to Oregon’s professional communities in the Portland metropolitan area and statewide. The Outreach Subcommittee also organizes the Section’s annual planning retreat for executive committee members.
 Chair: Krista Evans: [email protected] / 503 908-3003
Members: Joe Cerne, Melanie Choch, Leigh Gill, Brian Jolly, Jennifer Nicholls


Mission: The Newsletter Subcommittee solicits and reviews articles from attorneys and publishes Oregon Business Lawyer, the quarterly Business Law Section newsletter.
Chair: Tim Crippen: [email protected] / 503 224-5560
Members: Adam Adkin, Blake Bowman, Jay Brody, Melanie Choch, Stephanie Davidson, Mick Harris, Kaci Hohmann, Melissa Jaffe, Dave Malcom, Wendy Beth Oliver, Michael Walker, Meghan Wiliams 

New Business Lawyers

Mission: The New Business Lawyers Subcommittee is a way for new(er) lawyers who engage in transactional business practice to network with each other, mentor law students, and provide speaking and writing opportunities for its members. The subcommittee has six working groups: mentorship, social, pro bono, law schools, education, and newsletter.
Co-Chair: Joseph L Cerne: [email protected] / 503 778-2192
Co-Chair: Kaci Hohmann: [email protected] / 503 467-0399
Members: Tim Crippen, Krista Evans, and Berit Everhart, who are Executive Committee members, along with several other members of the Business Law Section

Nominating and Member Recruitment

Mission: This subcommittee encourages active membership in the Business Law Section.
Chair: Will Goodling: [email protected] / 503 294-9501
Members: Anne Arathoon and
A third member (who must be a non-EC member) will be selected before the subcommittee begins its work in considering nominations for 2024 EC members.

Castles Leadership Award

Mission: The award was established in 1998 to recognize an Oregon lawyer for excellence in the practice of business law, professionalism among fellow business lawyers and outstanding community leadership. This subcommittee receives and reviews nominations for the award and recommends a recipient to the Executive Committee.
Chair: Anne Arathoon: [email protected] / 972 810-9191

Additional subcommittee members (previous Chairs of the EC who are willing to participate) will join this subcommittee before it begins its work in considering nominees for the 2023 James B. Castles Leadership Award.